top of page


Region IX

College of the Desert

My name is Raul Gomez. I am currently in my last semester, here at College of the Desert. I will be graduating this spring with hopefully two Associate Degrees in Sociology and Criminal Justice. I was born in Mexico, San Blas, Nayarit. I moved to the United States when I was eight years old and have lived in California ever since, graduating from Desert Hot Springs High School. I am the first person in my family to go to college and come from a home with a single, immigrant parent. I am also a DACA recipient. Being a DACA recipient has allowed me to find a job that lets me focus on school while maintaining a full-time job. My experiences have helped me become a mentor for my younger brother and sister and other DACA students.

My EOPS counselor, Jeff Acidera, really helped me with my academic plan and progress. He showed be the path and kept me on track for chances to go to UC-I, UCLA, UCB, UCSB, and all the CSUs. He was there for me on everything that was happening in and out of class.

I hope to transfer to University of California-Irvine. My choice of school will most likely depend on my financial package. UCI is my first choice because they have a great Criminology program that prepares me for several career opportunities. A double major in Sociology would help me prepare to be college counselor. I know that there are many campus activities and groups at UCI that would benefit me greatly. This scholarship will help me focus on my studies and give me a sense of relief because it can help cover some college expenses.

bottom of page